Interview Anecdotes: Bryony Frost on deciding to turn professional

In the latest edition of ‘Interview Anecdotes’, jockey Bryony Frost recalls the iconic moment she decided to turn professional, a decision that turned out to be life changing for the Devon-born rider.

I was riding quite a few for Paul under rules, and I’d gone over my 75 limit which meant I was costing money. I was costing more money than Richard Johnson would on the track, and that’s just silly. If you’re going to have Richard or me, then of course you’re going to have Richard.

We were schooling in the school and I was late, so I got told off and I said: “Sorry, I’m trying to sort out my licence, it has run out and I need to get declared to ride for Dad tomorrow.”

I was stressing on the phone, running around, I’m useless with this kind of thing, and Paul said: “Well why are you doing that, just go Conditional,” so I said: “Well okay, If I’ve got your support,” and he said: “What you being silly for, of course you’ve got my support.” And away we went. There was no meeting, there was no sit down.

I knew if ever got the chance I wanted to go professional when I reached the crossroads, and with Paul telling me I had the support, you’ve got to grab that with both hands.

When you get opportunities, take them. Run with it, don’t look back, because looking back is failing. Just keep kicking.

To read what Clare Balding had to say about jockeys making the jump from amateur to professional, click here.

Below is a short montage of Bryony Frost schooling horses at Paul Nicholl’s Manor Farm Stables. More footage and a full two minute package will be available to view on site on January 11.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment